Cornelia Fischer

A life for the neglected children in Panatau

Awarded the Elisabeth Norgall Prize

After the fall of Ceausescu in 1989, terrible pictures of severely neglected children from state-run homes went around the world. Cornelia Fischer, who was 42 at the time, decided without further ado to emigrate to Romania and become an advocate for these children. And so she joined the international aid organisation Amurtel.

Because of Cornelia's expertise as a nurse and caregiver, ARMURTEL asked her to set up a children's home in the rural district of Buzau. This was done under very difficult circumstances. For many years, the region had no running water. Cornelia's humanitarian commitment was honoured in 2013 with the Elisabeth Norgall Prize excellent. 

Cornelia Fischer visiting her old home in Zurich in March 2022

"Sometimes the obstacles seemed insurmountable, but none was greater than the ability to overcome them. For any progress, you need good cooperation. The people in the small farming village of Panatau are very friendly." CF, 2022

Although Mama Cornelia, as all the children call her, has been retired for a few years, she still helps out at the children's home every day and supports where she can. 

What began as a personal adventure in 1989 became her life's work. With personal commitment, she not only helped to build up the children's home, but she also used private assets to create an Guesthouse Valea Lupului was founded to offer the children in the home an opportunity for training and work in tourism. 

Cornelia Fischer about her Romanian homeland:

"The municipality of Panatau nestles in a side valley of the Buzau River. The lovely area is characterised by wooded hills and the untamed Buzau River."

Cornelia Fischer in the media

A future for abandoned children. NZZ 2010

Honour for commitment in Romania. Frankfurter Rundschau 2013

Nurse receives Norgall Award. FAZ 2013

Elisabeth Norgall Prize 2013. Feuilleton Frankfurt 2013

Cornelia Fischer helped to set up an orphanage in Romania. SRF 2021, The Fifth Switzerland, Audio & Podcast

Cornelia Fischer Relief Fund

Opportunities for neglected children and young people in the Buzau region, Romania

Copyright © 2022 Cornelia Fischer Relief Fund

Cornelia Fischer

Ein Leben für die vernachlässigten Kinder in Panatau

Ausgezeichnet mit dem Elisabeth-Norgall-Preis

Nach dem Sturz von Ceausescu 1989 gingen schreckliche Bilder von schwer verwahrlosten Kindern aus staatlichen Heimen um die Welt. Die damals 42-jährige Cornelia Fischer entschloss sich kurzerhand, nach Rumänien auszuwandern und sich für diese Kinder einzusetzen. Und so schloss sie sich der internationalen Hilfsorganisation Amurtel an.

Aufgrund Cornelias Expertise als Krankenschwester und Betreuungsfachfrau bat ARMURTEL sie, im ländlichen Bezirk Buzau ein Kinderheim aufzubauen. Dies geschah unter sehr schwierigen Umständen. Viele Jahre verfügte die Region über kein fliessendes Wasser. Cornelias humanitäres Engagement wurde 2013 mit dem Elisabeth-Norgall-Preis ausgezeichnet. 

Cornelia Fischer im März 2022 auf Besuch in ihrer alten Heimat in Zürich

„Manchmal erschienen die Hindernisse unüberwindlich, jedoch war keines grösser als die Fähigkeit, es zu bewältigen. Für jeden Fortschritt braucht es eine gute Zusammenarbeit. Die Menschen im kleinen Bauerndorf Panatau sind sehr freundlich.“ CF, 2022

Obwohl Mama Cornelia, wie alle Kinder sie nennen, seit einigen Jahren in Rente ist, hilft sie immer noch täglich im Kinderheim mit und unterstützt, wo sie kann. 

Was 1989 als ein persönliches Abenteuer begann, wurde zu ihrer Lebensaufgabe. Mit persönlichem Engagement hat sie nicht nur das Kinderheim mit aufgebaut, sondern sie hat auch mit privaten Vermögen eine Gästepension Valea Lupului gegründet, um den Heimkindern eine Ausbildungs- und Arbeitsmöglichkeit im Tourismus anzubieten. 

Cornelia Fischer über ihre rumänische Heimat:

„Die Gemeinde Panatau schmiegt sich in ein Seitental des Buzau Flusses. Die liebliche Gegend ist geprägt von bewaldeten Hügeln und dem ungezähmten Buzau Fluss.“

Cornelia Fischer in den Medien

Eine Zukunft für verlassene Kinder. NZZ 2010

Ehre für Engagement in Rumänien. Frankfurter Rundschau 2013

Krankenschwester bekommt Norgall Preis. FAZ 2013

Elisabeth Norgall Preis 2013. Feuilleton Frankfurt 2013

Cornelia Fischer hat in Rumänien ein Waisenheim mit aufgebaut. SRF 2021, Die fünfte Schweiz, Audio & Podcast

Cornelia Fischer Hilfsfonds

Chancen für vernachlässigte Kinder und Jugendliche in der Region Buzau, Rumänien

Copyright © 2022 Cornelia Fischer Hilfsfonds